If you don't find an answer, please click here to post your question.
Visitor
Accepted Solution

linux: this video isn't encoded for your device

Hi,

I subscribe to 'https://psaworldtour.com/tv/', and for their 'live' stream it looks like they are using the ooyala player.

On both browsers (firefox and chrome), I get the error:

this video isn't encoded for your device

I ask the squashtv for help, but they are not technical (I am also a software developer).

Please can you help me?

What codec do I need, or does your player work with Linux ???

Any other suggestions ???

Thanks,

John.

ps. the 'replay' streams work fine, it's just the live stream with this problem.

Accepted Solutions
Ooyalan

Re: linux: this video isn't encoded for your device

Hi John,

The setting in the Squash TV account is a little unusual as our live streams will not play back on desktop browsers without Flash, but it's possible that there's non-live content on their site which that setting would affect. I have to admit to not being familiar with their site as we don't provide support for customer websites, just the player and the surrounding technology.

I understand your concerns around Flash as a whole. Regarding support for live streaming in our HTML5 player, I can't provide any information on our product roadmap, but we are conscious of the goings-on in our industry, and we are very much aware of what we need to do to stay competitive!

I'm afraid that the only solution I can offer at present is to use Chrome's built-in Pepperflash plugin for the time being. At time of writing, there simply is not a way to watch live streams in our player without Flash on desktop computers.

Sorry that I couldn't be of any further assistance.

Best regards,

-Jack

View solution in original post

All Replies
Ooyalan

Hi John,

Jack from Ooyala technical support here. I'll help with this.

I'm afraid that Linux is not one of our supported platforms, but I will do what I can to get you up and running.